November 2013 – EU

register now

Introduction to Databases

Presented by Davey Shafik (@dshafik)

Date: 11/14/2013
Time: 20:00 CET

19:00 UTC, 13:00 CST, 11:00 PST
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

This talk will cover the basics necessary to help you decide what data to store, where, and how.

We will cover PDO — PHP’s Data Object extension, which allows you to talk to a variety of databases, including MySQL.

You will learn how to CRUD — Create, Retrieve, Update and Delete data, database schema, and when to use indexes.

Additionally, we will look at other data storage systems such as memcache, and nosql databases.

Meet Davey Shafik

davey-shafik

Davey Shafik is a full time PHP Developer with 12 years experience in PHP and related technologies. A Community Engineer for Engine Yard, he has written three books (so far!), numerous articles and spoken at conferences the globe over. He lives in Central Florida with his wife, son and two cats.

Davey is best known for his books, the Zend PHP 5 Certification Study Guide and PHP Master: Write Cutting Edge Code, and as the originator of PHP Archive (PHAR) for PHP 5.3.

 

This entry was posted in Europe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.