November 2013

register now

More Code, More Problems

Presented by Ed Finkler (@funkatron)

Date: 11/14/2013
Time: 20:00 CST

18:00 PST, 03:00 CET, 02:00 UTC
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

In this talk I’ll extend the concepts to other languages we work with in web development, establishing these core principles:

  • Learn languages, not frameworks
  • Build small things
  • Less code is better than more
  • Create and use simple, readable code

We’ll cover how following these principles makes you a better developer, and makes the job of maintaining and verifying your code much easier.

Meet Ed Finkler

Ed Finkler

With over 15 years of passionate web development experience and open source advocacy, Ed Finkler loves empowering people through technology. He’s excited about creating things and sharing them with the world.

He served as web lead and security researcher at The Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security (CERIAS) at Purdue University for 9 years. More recently, he has been helping startup teams build exciting e-commerce, social sharing, and mapping systems. He’s a proud member of the Fictive Kin team, working on Done Not Done, Gimme Bar, and lots of other cool stuff. Along with Chris Hartjes, Ed is co-host of the Development Hell podcast.

Ed spends much of his free time creating and working on open source projects such as Spaz, a long-running, award winning microblogging client. Ed also created the PHP libraries like FUnit, Resty.php, PHPSecInfo, and Inspekt.

 

This entry was posted in US East Coast. Bookmark the permalink.