January 2014

register now

Understanding The Helter Skelter
World of Testable PHP Applications

Presented by Chris Hartjes (@grmpyprogrammer)

Date: 01/23/2014
Time: 20:00 CST

18:00 PST, 03:00 CET (Jan. 24), 02:00 GMT (Jan. 24)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

The world of testable PHP applications can seem confusing and the members of the community are often cult-like in their devotion to the tools and practices. What you need is a guide who is as crazy as the cultists but can explain the concepts to you without seeming like One Of Them.

In this talk, long-time grumpy programmer and testing advocate Chris Hartjes goes over the basics of the concepts and tools that he uses every day to turn unruly PHP code into testable applications that seem like they are snapped together using lego blocks.

Meet Chris Hartjes

Chris Hartjes

Chris Hartjes has been building “dynamic Algol” web applications of all shapes and sizes since 1998, ranging from catalogs for CD compilations for professional DJ’s to large-scale dating web sites.

A huge consumer of open-source software, Chris tries to give back to the community via his blog, his performance-art Twitter account and by both speaking at and helping to organize conferences. He is also a big believer in the power of testing and automation as secret weapons for organizations to deliver high quality applications quickly.

Chris’s books:
The Grumpy Programmer’s Guide To Building Testable PHP Applications
The Grumpy Programmer’s PHPUnit Cookbook

 

This entry was posted in US East Coast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.