February 2014

Apigility: Agile APIs

Presented by Matthew Weier O’Phinney (@mwop)

Date: 02/20/2014
Time: 20:00 CST

02:00 GMT (Feb 21), 03:00 CET (Feb 21), 18:00 PST
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on the Time Zone Conversion

You’re making the move to APIs – you have a mobile application, or you need to enable cross-organizational access to your data, or because you have an idea for a cool single page web application. Now you’re mired in learning everything you can about web services, and discovering that APIs pose a whole set of challenges discrete from your web applications: what response format should you use? how will you report errors? how can you restrict calls to specific HTTP methods? what should you do when a client doesn’t specify they can accept the format you end up using? how can you secure your API for use with mobile web applications, much less native apps? how should you version the API as it grows?

Apigility, a project sponsored by and built on top of Zend Framework, provides answers to all of these questions. It is an opinionated API builder and engine. In this session, I’ll walk you through both what it delivers for an API, as well as how you can build an API using its admin dashboard.

Meet Matthew Weier O’Phinney

Matthew Weire OPhinney

Matthew is project lead for Zend Framework. He has been using and abusing web technologies since the late nineties, and actively contributing to open source projects for over a decade, primarily in PHP. When not in front of a computer, you’ll find him cavorting with his Basset Hound and family on the plains of South Dakota.

 

Buy this video

 

This entry was posted in US East Coast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.