High Availability PHP

January 2018

Presented by Josh Butts (@jimbojsb)

Date: January 18, 2018
Time: 20:00 CST

18:00 PST, 3:00 CET (Jan 19), 2:00 GMT (Jan 19)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

With the rise of containerized applications, more and more people are starting to consider running high-availability applications in production with Docker. This is not to be taken lightly, and the path is fraught with peril. In this talk, we’ll discuss what a highly-available Docker-powered PHP environment looks like and how to build one. We’ll also look at strategies for using Docker and container concepts to avoid getting burned by “disposable” cloud hardware. We’ll look at load balancing, service discovery, failover and talk about tools that make these manageable. We’ll also talk about the speed at which the Docker ecosystem is moving, and how to cope with that when dealing with production applications.

Josh Butts

Josh Butts

Josh Butts is the VP of Engineering at Ziff Davis, an old publishing house that has “gone digital”. In addition to over a decade in the trenches of e-commerce at Offers.com, Josh also oversees engineering for other internet brands such as PCMag and Geek.com. Josh is also an organizer of Austin PHP, one of the largest PHP user groups in the US. Josh has taught several classes in PHP and enjoys the opportunity to share his experiences with the PHP community.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>