MySQL: Analysis, Understanding, and Optimization of Queries

May 2017

Presented by Michael Moussa (@michaelmoussa)

Date: May 18, 2017
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (May 19). 2:00 BST (May 19)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

This meeting is over, but you can still purchase the video.

Purchase Video

Your new database query ran quickly when you tested it, but seconds after deploying it, alarms are blaring and you’re scrambling to rollback before the site goes down. What happened?!?

I can “EXPLAIN”.

Queries that perform well under development load with limited datasets can easily bring a database to its knees under production load. In this talk, you will learn to decipher MySQL query execution plans, recognize portions that can be improved, and take the necessary steps to optimize your queries – all without starting any fires!

Michael Moussa

Michael Moussa

Michael has over 17 years experience building PHP applications from the ground up. He is a Solutions Architect on Rackspace’s Fanatical Support for AWS team helping customers solve their technical challenges and launch their products in the cloud. In his spare time, he’s a regular open-source contributor, Zend Expressive maintainer, and competitive homebrewer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>