Yielding Higher-Performance
PHP Applications

register now

March 2017 – US

Presented by Ian Littman (@iansltx)

Date: March 16, 2017
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:: PDT, 2:00 CET (Mar 17), 1:00 GMT (Mar 17)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

Not long ago, there was one sane model for running web applications in PHP: handle one simultaneous request per process, build everything up at the beginning of the request, tear everything down at the end, and block on I/O everywhere along the way. That’s still the standard for PHP web applications. But with advances in the PHP runtime…and new concurrency frameworks like Icicle and AMPHP on top of those new features…PHP applications can behave a bit more like Node.js ones, with the application itself serving web requests…and outlasting them…interleaving multiple concurrent requests via async I/O. Those advances can pack more performance into a given application, handling more requests per second and taking less time per request than a more traditional setup.

We’ll take a look at the basic concepts powering this new wave of async frameworks (generators!), then dive into how you’d build an application that runs on top of those frameworks, including an example app that showcases what async I/O can do to shorten response times and squeeze more requests per second out of an all-elsse-equal hardware and software setup.

Ian Littman

Ian Littman

Ian has been building and maintaining various clients’ applications in some form or fashion since 2011.He prefers building APIs and the logic that powers them, though with enough arm-twisting he’s been known to build things that you can see in a browser outside its developer console. When he isn’t dev’ing, adding another event to the schedule for Austin Web Developer Lunch, or presenting yet again at AustinPHP, he’s playing fiddle…er…violin, biking around town, or losing Overwatch matches.