How to Use Generators to Beat Memory Bloat

April

Presented by Korvin Szanto (@korvinszanto)

Date: April 19, 2018
Time: 20:00 CDT

18:00 PDT, 3:00 CEST (Apr 20), 2:00 BST (Apr 20)
Not sure of the time in your area? Check it on timeanddate.com

Memory usage is something that we as developers have to be aware of. Ever debugging a memory issue and find that your once small dataset has ballooned out of proportion? And instead of dealing with the issue, you opt for upping the memory limit?

Iterators can be the answer but they require a lot of code and can be very difficult to understand at a glance. Thankfully since PHP 5.5 Generators help us create and manage what would be complex iterators with simple syntax sugar.

In this talk I will go over some of the ways you can implement generators and cure your memory bloat.

Korvin Szanto

Korvin Szanto

Korvin is an Open Source enthusiast who has been contributing to projects around the web since he could work a dial-up connection. He began his life as a developer asking questions on IRC, and eventually grew to answer them too! He is a maintainer of the open source concrete5 CMS, and works for PortlandLabs in Portland Oregon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>